E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Some Qs' about upgrading wheel size

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2006, 12:05 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2008 Mercedes-Benz C-Class C200 Kompressor AMG Sport (Automatic)

Hewwo!

My E60 has the standard 16" rims (225/55/R16 : front & rear) - I avoided the biggers rims because they all came with run-flats. I decided to let my tred-depth wear out before considering a change of rims. In about 6 months they will need a change and because I'm new to the whole idea I've been doing a little early research - it seems there's a lot to consider in every aspect - safety, peformance, economy. In fact all these problems have just scared me off the idea so you now have the task of convincing me it's all going to be worthwhile.

I was looking at some 18" rims with 245/40/R18 tyres - front & rear. This is apparently a good fitment and just keeps the speedometer over-reading instead of under-reading. First question - you guys think this is a good choice?

Secondly, I hear people talking of handling improvements - in what sense? Cornering? Turning sharpness? I notice 16"s are very "spongy" in corners and I have to apply a very significant amount of steering lock to achieve sharp low-speed turns (plenty of those in London) and it gets awfully tiring because the nose just doesn't swing in when you turn it! Same thing with my previous E46, also on 16"s but strangely not on my friends 1.6 FSI Golf, which turns in very sharpley on 16"s. Unless a larger rim/lower profile tyres make a serious difference, I'm not bothering with a change at all.

Thirdly, the inveitable question of what the hell are offsets and spacers? What they are for, when to use, if to use, how to use?

Lastly, I don't mind the comfort compromises required for low-profile tyres - but how significant are they and what differences do they cater for?