E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

E60 transmission fix

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2015, 06:49 PM
New Members

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: E60 2006 sedan auto
Default E60 transmission fix

Hello
I thought I would write quickly about a neighbor’s 2008 E60 transmission I was able to help fix and maybe this post can help others in the same situation.

A few weeks ago I received a knock on my door from a guy who lives near me.
I had seen his E60 parked and collecting dust in his driveway for a little while but had not really paid much attention.

He had seen me working on my E60 and was wondering if I was a mechanic (but I’m not)
He said that his transmission went into safe mode about a month previous and BMW had told him he needs a new transmission which would cost in excess of $10,000

I was able to remove the fault codes and take the car for a little test drive.
It really banged into gear when we slowed down and during 1 and 2 it sounded as if it was slipping as the motor would rev before changing

I spoke to my trusted Transmission friend seanjordan20 and we decided what to do.
We changed the mechatronics sleeve and the 4 tubular sleeves.
We also fitted a new filter and fluid.to test if the transmission was still okay

The transmission had a huge improvement. There was no slipping between gears but it was still banging a little when changing up and down esspecially from 1 to 2.

Although he was really happy to be able to drive the car again I suggested that he have the valve body reconditioned and new solenoids fitted if he was going to keep the car.

He agreed so out came the valve body again and sent to have rebuilt.
I got it back about one week later
The report was the solenoids for 1 and 2 were hardly working and the others were clogged from old fluid and some worn transmission sludge.
The valve body also was dirty from the old fluid.