E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

some questions regarding buying an E60

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2010, 12:47 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi all

I'm completely new to BMW and I thought this would be a good place to ask some questions. Please help if you can...

1. In general, is E60 a reliable car? Do I have to take it into the shop every month? How bout them electrical problems? Most of the posts that I see on this forum and bimmerfest are about each individual's car problem...

2. I am looking to buy a 2007 530i. Since my budget is only $30k, is it possible to find a 530i with decent mileage (12000miles/year) and sports package?

3. Should I only look for CPO or just any pre-owned is fine? I'm inclined to find CPO because I might get more protection (or peace of mind) since BMW offers the CPO warranty.

4. Is 3rd party warranty good?

5. What does $0 maintenance and the warranty include? Since I don't know E60 very well, are there anything that I would definitely need to be covered by maintenance and warranty as a E60 owner? Heard electrical is the biggest problem with BMW and warranty just doesn't include electrical anymore. Does that mean I'm gambling with 30k + potential repair cost?

6. Can anyone recommend a dealership that gives good price? I'm in socal, but I'm willing to go to norcal to buy the car and drive it down.

Thank you so much and please correct me if I'm wrong.
Old 12-08-2010, 01:03 AM
Senior Members

My Ride: 530iA 04

The car it self is good but not the N52 engines which 2007 530i have. I would go for 535i,545i or 530i pre-LCI with M54 engine.
Old 12-08-2010, 01:16 AM
Members