E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

My 1st new car, a 520d

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2007, 01:38 PM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

All,

After a lot of consideration and testdrives in many different cars, I decided that I would order a 520d LCI as my 1st lease car (and first new car as well). I drive a lot of long distances in Europe (mainly Germany) and the E60 is just the car for me, as I like driving comfortable and fast. I especially like cars with a very quiet interiour and good handling. Needless to say that the E60 is just the car I needed.

I work in the automotive industry, and I can really appreciate a well built car with some nice electronics engineering. This is my profession too: Designing electronics for automotive sensors, for all major OEMs including BMW.

Compared to other cars I looked at (A6 2.0tdi, Passat diesels etc) the 520d was the best choice for me in almost all aspects. I expected the 2.0 diesel to be a bit underpowered for this kind of car, but was actually surprised during a test drive. It's not hyper fast, but because of the relatively low weight (1485kg) it's not really slow either. Of course it does not have the 6 cyl sound, but it's quiet and refined and perfectly fine for the average daily traffic + autobahn cruising.

So I ordered the car approx 2 months ago. It was in the higher end of my lease budget so I did not order that many options, but at least the most important ones for me like the business Navigation, Bluetooth and the HiFi soundsystem. It's almost a bargain at ~50K€, the same price as a well equipped Passat diesel here in Holland.

Yesterday I got a message that the car had arrived. Cool! Visited the dealer today and took a couple of pictures I like to share. Hopefully it will be registered and ready to drive before the weekend...