E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

05 525i trans issues and questions etc

Search this Thread

Old Yesterday, 10:21 PM
Probation Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2005 bmw 525i
Default 05 525i trans issues and questions etc

This post will be a bit long I apologize.

I'm Jesse, and I recently purchased an 05 525i with some transmission issues and other miscellaneous problems in the hopes of flipping it. I quite literally just got the car 2 days ago and I haven't had the chance to scanned for codes; I will update the post probably this weekend after I do. Hoping to get some advice to point me in the right direction.

For starters not sure if it's in a limp mode I'm new to the BMW platform, this is my first time working on one. The car parks, reverse's and when you put it in drive it only goes into 4th gear and wont shift, like it's in overdrive, even in manual mode you can't shift it just says m4. the previous owner's son had put a mechatronic unit from a 6hp21 trans (the one in my car is a 6hp19) but he said it was having the same issue before he switched it out so probably isn't just the mechatronic (I think it's very likely this could be the issue so I'm not counting it out yet), he also said he would reset the system, not sure what that means but the car would work fine for a short period of time and just go back to the limp mode. He was very high when I purchased the vehicle, and he gave me the 6hp21 transmission the mechatronic unit in my car was attached to. The trans has 80k miles and work's fine, he says his son has a 2010 528i that he manual swapped and no longer had use for the automatic trans.