Bluetooth & Cell Phone Forum Have a bluetooth or mobile/cellular phone issue or question? Your answer will be here!

Question about iphone retrofit with Dension

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2008, 02:46 PM
Contributors

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Thumbs up

Newbie question about the iphone retrofit for my E60. I have an 2004 525I and just the standard cd player w/ no Navi or bluetooth capability.

Q1 :I wanna know if Dension gateway 500 with the bluetooth attachment will it show contact number on my idrive and if someone calls in will I be able to answer it where it goes thru my car speaker?

Q2 : With the Dension gateway 500 and attachment AVR will I be able to use the Iphone internet and have it appear on the Idrive screen?

Q3 : With the Dension and the attachments installed will it be required for an Dealer reprogramming?

I'm new to the Whole retrofit thing and dont understand how the dension work with E60 that dont have NAV or Bluetooth capability, Any help or clarification on the whole retrofit would be much apppreciated.

Jack
Old 11-30-2008, 04:41 PM
Members
Senior Members

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: MY07 525xi Silver Gray
Model Year: 2007

Jack,

I'm gonna try what I know... so don't shoot me if my answer is what you want

A1: Chk out member kekkos http://forums.e60.net/index.php?s=&sho...st&p=691844

A2: Since its not out yet (AFAIK) I think it's only for the video portion of iPod (maybe for video from iPhone too) but I don't think re-direct the iPod/iPhone screen to iDrive screen via AVR.

A3: Yes, dealer have to enable it. The way I did mine, since I don't have CDC module (just the cable prepped) I told the dealer to pick iPod retrofit and +/- 65 secs. I watched the whole re-programming concluded w/o any hitch.