E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

My Stereo Upgrade Finally Complete.

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2010, 06:28 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Once upon a time there was a little boy who owned an E60. This little boy liked music, but his car stereo could not play anything with more bass than what is in a 9 year olds voice. When he tried, the speakers would sputter and spit and generally sound like ass. One day the little boy got fed up with it. This is the story of what he did...

Now I am not a professional installer. I?m just a guy who likes to break things, so take this post for what it is - a crazy don?t-try-this-at-home internet posting.

Equipment List:

Alpine PDX 1.600 (600wx1 @2 or 4 ohms) 262.45

Alpine PDX 5 (75x4/300wx1)

Audiocontrol LC6i 6 channel Line Output converter 75

Earthquake SWS-8x (2)

Infinity Kappa 42.9i 4 1/2in speakers (50w RMS 150w Peak)

Infinity Kappa 6022i 6 1/2in speakers (60w RMS 180w peak)

Rockford Fosgate P2D412 12" Subwoofer (50-250 watts RMS/500 watts peak power) 192.95

Add-ons:

SRQ Customs sub box

BMW OEM Trim piece & cubby

I wanted to perform the simplest upgrade to the stock system I could while reaching my goal of hearing/feeling more bass. I did not really want to mess too much with pulling the car apart as I know (from prior BMW installs) these cars are engineered in such a way that makes adding and running wiring anywhere a nightmare. My plan called for switching out the rear deck speakers with higher quality speakers and switching out the under seat woofers. I also planned to add some trunk based bass and a pair of front 6 1/2" door speakers (which it turns out I didn?t need).