Lounge How was your day? Anything goes but please keep it PG-13!

Dos and Donts in a job interview

Search this Thread

Old 07-14-2008, 12:03 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey everyone,

I'm a Civil Engineering student and am about to start doing some job interviews.

Now i know most of you, if not all, are successful buisness men and have reached high in your jobs. Can you please tell me what to do and dont do in job interviews?

what to say to impress? what to avoid? how to ask for high wage.

I have done about 3 internships so far in my field. Every summer for the past 3 years, i go to Saudi Arabia for 2month and work to get some experience.
i know i should include that.

Thx guys.appreciate your help.
Old 07-14-2008, 12:11 PM
Super Moderator

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
My Ride: 2011.5 Alpine White E90 M3 | Black Novillo Leather | Carbon Fiber Leather Trim | ZCP | ZP2 | M-DCT | Navigation | Moonroof | 6FL Mods: TMS 12.5mm spacers all around l Hawk HPS Brake Pads l OEM M3 Edition Grills l Paint Matched Side Gills l Key Hole D

Do: Look professional, dress to impress
Do: Arrive early and bring in a few extra copies of your resume and reference list
Do: Take your time and speak clearly when answering questions
Do: Go over some standard interview questions with your friends or with yourself in the mirror. (a quick google search can get you a list of generic questions)

Do not: Come in with the "so what can this company do for me" attitude
Do not: Answer the salary question with a specific number.
Best answer for this IMHO is "looking for your best competitive salary you can offer an individual with my knowledge and experience."
Do not: spend too much time speaking about academic achievements and boasting about GPA's and what-not....
Do not: recite verbatim your resume, the interview should compliment your resume, not supplement for it. They have already read resume and that got you in the door, now they most likely want to see/know about you....

GL