Lounge How was your day? Anything goes but please keep it PG-13!

Beware of Dension

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2012, 03:04 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 04 545i 6spd m/t Sport, Cold Weather, Logic 7

I hate to post this, however hopefully by chronicling my experience with Dension technical support I can save somebody else the headache.

I will attach the entire email log, not that I expect anyone to read it, but I needed to summarize it and computer memory is cheap. For the record, I warned dension that I would post this if I did not receive satisfactory support. Also for the record, I am a mechanical engineer with extensive electrical experience including coding of the e60 in which my dension was being installed ? even with my background and online research and understanding exactly what I needed from them from the first email they were unable to deliver this information in 3 weeks, at which point I have given up.

My hardware is an older model my Dad purchased for his SL500. He gave it to me recently as the car was sold before the Dension was ever installed and this hardware requires slightly different configuration to the current model, even though the functionality is identical. I was able to find this obscure information through an extensive google search ? there is no reference on their website.

In summary, I?ve sent them 17 emails to their 7 replies. I specifically asked for the configuration file for BMW, with text enabled, in 10 of my emails. Every request was ignored, the only file they ever provided was for the non text capable bmw, even though all evidence points to my BMW being text capable with the correct coding, which I told them.