E60 M5 Discussion The almighty M5. Have you seen one today?

Canadian Looking for mods/parts

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2009, 07:30 AM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Im really new to the M5 world (purchased 06' in October/08) and was originally going to just tint the windows and keep most everything stock.. Seeing videos of C's RPI exhaust, Eurofans pics of the 100 mods he's done and other members unique mods im really eager to start doing some alterations.
My M5 only has 12000kms, and is still under factory warranty.. I dont want to do anything that will effect my warranty, and also want to be able to sell the car after a year and upgrade..

My questions are;
1. is there a market out there for selling modded m5's?? I dont want to do some shit and then not be able to sell it ( i want to retain its value)
2. as a canadian where can i get mods for my car and at a good value?? RPI? RDSport?
3. WHat mods are good starters? (not looking to spend a fortune)
4. THings to stay away from?

Im thinking about doing some stuff, but dont want to run into engine/tranny/electrical problems down the road because of them.

Any opinions are greatly appreciated...

Thanks for any help! Can't wait to get my beast out of winter storage!!

Aartsy
Old 01-27-2009, 11:40 AM
Senior Members

It seems to me the best way is to keep your stock parts in storage, so that you can swap them back, and sell the mods separately. That's what most people seem to do.

In terms of mods, there's a few things you should consider:

1. Lower cost items that add good power and are easy to install/de-install: ie. Intakes
2. Invisible things: ie. lightweight underdrive pulley (if same color as stock, otherwise higher chance of detection by dealer).
3. Exhaust: make sure you like the sound, because this will make a HUGE impact on your driving/ownership experience.