E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Started painting trim black

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2009, 05:21 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile

SHOOT ME IN THE FACE!!! (dont even post a dirty comment because im already in a terrible mood)

Sanded the shit out of those stupid chrome pieces. Washed them. Dried them. Then started painting them with dupli color black high gloss paint. 4-5 coats i dont remember. Waiting 15-30 mins in between. Painting was simple obviously. Taking my chrome pieces off was annoying. Im not a patient person and im not good with stupid little clips, pins, snaps, clamps, etc. I took mine off and then tried putting the new ones on....i was rushing the entire time because my car was outside and it looked like it was going to rain at any moment. Needless to say some of the chrome pieces are bent and i cant use all of them. So i must take off mine and use some of those. I suck at putting the molding on around the door jam/mirror part. I cant get it to line up and it was making me go insane. After all of it i put my stupid chrome one back on. I need another can of paint to finish the job....the painted chrome pieces acutally look pretty good.

should i clear coat them or no?

Im going to chip away at this job for the next 2 or 3 days. If it looks good then i saved $2xx dollars that will go to something like coilovers or something else thats super cool.

im tired and pissed off....i was about 10 seconds away from throwing all the chrome trim in the trash and buying the shadowline and taking it to the dealer and asking for them to shove a bill up my ass. AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
HHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH <--- head into window.

anyone have any tips for the stupid trim? and yes i read the DIY.
Old 05-03-2009, 05:26 PM
Contributors