E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Speakers Upgraded - Need Advice on Tuning Amp

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2013, 03:36 AM
Contributors

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Speakers Upgraded - Need Advice on Tuning Amp

Hey All!

I was able to get some time off and took this time to upgrade my cars sound. I upgraded my speakers with BSW Stage 1 and went with SWS-8 under seat woofers. For my Amp I went with JL Audio XD600/6. I got everything up and running and I am currently doing some research on how to tune the speakers.

This is my first time to play around with anything sound related so I am a complete newbie in this area. From what I picked up I would set my under seat woofers to somewhere between 60-250 Hz at 4 Ohm. Then for my front/rear mid-range between 250-500 Hz at 4 Ohm. Does that sound about right or am I off here?

Thanks for any tips!
Old 03-07-2013, 01:10 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2005 545i (SMG) Titanium Gray Black Interior, Anthracite Trim M-tech kit Sport Package Premium Sound Satellite Radio Active Cruise Comfort Seats Navigation Folding rear seats

Let me first say that I don't have any experiece with the SWS woofers, but I would think that generally speaking you could tune them to a max freq. range more like 100-130 Hz. and then run your midrange/tweeter combo from 120 Hz - 20kHz (assuming there is a passive crossover?). You don't want too much mid-bass going to the underseat woofers since that might pull down your "sound stage." Your front stage speakers should be capable of playing well below 250 Hz, so I don't see why the SWS woofers would need to play up that high.