E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Anyone has done hardwiring a Garmin?

Search this Thread

Old 04-29-2009, 07:23 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I previously gave up on retrofitting BMW Navigation pro since I could not find any BMW dealer in my area that were willing to do the retrofitting and coding.

I then saw Garmin 885 and 855 with this cool voice recognition feature where you don't even have to raise your finger. I was against after market portable navigation route however this cool responsive voice recognition changed my mind.

Now my problem is that I do not want power cable hanging around but then I have never tried 'tapping' in or hardwiring before. I am pretty much a newbie when it comes to electronics. I have done soldering like once in my life back in grade school (educational radio kit).

Now back to my question,

I wonder if this going to be all I need for hardwiring the garmin

http://cgi.ebay.com/GARMIN-nuvi-850-855-855T-860-hard-wire-charger-cable_W0QQitemZ380119783337QQcmdZViewItemQQptZGPS_Accessories_Cables?hash=item380119783337&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A15%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318%7C301%3A0%7C293%3A1%7C294%3A50
Why does this cable has fuse built in? I thought the point of hardwiring is that you do not have to worry about fuse in the cigarette charge blowing up.

and if I do get this cable then where would I connect these to? Is soldering required?

thanks in advance
Old 04-29-2009, 08:09 AM
Members

My Ride: MY06 530i Silver Grey (A08)

Originally Posted by ssibaroma' post='862774' date='Apr 29 2009, 10:23 AM
I previously gave up on retrofitting BMW Navigation pro since I could not find any BMW dealer in my area that were willing to do the retrofitting and coding.