E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Recaro Baby seats fit check

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2015, 03:21 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: E60 N54, F10 N55, 2002
Default Recaro Baby seats fit check

Hey guys
My lil bimmerhead just came out. Ive got two questions.

1. We have a Chicco Keyfit 30 for the infant seat. It is a tight fit behind the passengers seat. I can attach it to the inside Latch points and place the base in the center. I have read on some forums that this is not safe since the latch points are too spaced out. But all of this was speculation, anyone have anything concrete as to why I cannot use the latch system? I am a mechanical engineer and it seems fine to me since the resultant force on the latch system will be slightly skewed instead of parallel to the direction of momentum, but I dont see how this is really a bad thing, unless the Latch system is not resilient with lateral forces???

2. Has anyone fit either of the current Recaro convertible seats (ProRide, Performance Ride) in their E60's, Im looking for experience with forward facing and rear facing as well as window seated or center seated.

Thanks!!!
Old 02-12-2015, 04:49 PM
Administrator

Received 96 Likes on 92 Posts
My Ride: 530xi
Model Year: 2007
Engine: N52

Believe it or not, some police departments have expertise in properly fitting car seats and will show you how to do it. Up here in Connecticut, they offer car seat checks as a public safety thing.

Last edited by JayArras; 02-12-2015 at 04:51 PM.
Old 02-13-2015, 07:41 AM
New Members

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
My Ride: 2008 535xi
Model Year: 2008
Engine: n54

Yes, I think every police department AND fire department will have at least one certified person to check your placement. The newest research says that the LATCH system has a weight limit.. somewhere around 45 lbs ish.. because the new seats are very heavy.