E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Rear diff jacking point.

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2013, 08:31 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Rear diff jacking point.

Hi,

I'm new to doing...well anything with cars.... give me a computer and i can gut it like a fish but stick me under a car and i'm not so sure so be gentle... it's my first oil service The oil side of things i've done but now for the fuel filter.

I had a look in TIS for the jacking points and the piccy isn't that great to work out where I'm supposed to jack up the rear from so I can get it on axel stands to do the fuel filter... Can someone take a look at the piccies below and make sure this is the right point to jack up on the diff. This is a 2006 530d M Sport.

Old 08-10-2013, 09:45 AM
Members
Senior Members

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The area you have marked in yellow is a perfect spot if you can get to it. By that I mean the rear differential has the low hanging finned cover designed for convection cooling which prevents seeing and interferes with easily getting to the differential body as you look underneath the rear toward the front of the car.

If you have a secure saddle of some type that can positively capture the area you marked without touching the finned cover, and without the danger of slipping off the differential body, then that would be great. I have threatened to construct something out of wood but have never gotten around to doing it. But I never wanted to risk trying to work "blind" and pick up the rear by the differential body, as if the jack slipped the differential cover would likely impact the jack as the car dropped.