E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Nervous driving 530i

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2012, 12:22 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi Guys,

I have been driving my car for 2 or 3 months now and it keeps bugging me.

When driving in the city or country side roads, the steering wheel is very sensitive to the tracks in the road. When the white lines are on the road have just been redone and i drive over it with, i feel the steering wheel shake/vibrate.
On the freeway, even the slighest bit of wind or when passing a truck, i need both hands on the wheel to keep it straight. I am almost constantly making corrections to keep it in a straight line

I have not experienced any clunks or other type of play in the steering.
What do notice; I also drive VW Golf. When driving, if i let the steering wheel go, it always pulls itsself back to a straight line by itsself. My BMW does not do this. I always need to steer it back to a straight line myself. Is this normal?

Thanks for thinking with me.
Old 05-25-2012, 12:45 AM
Members

Originally Posted by Ballistic
Hi Guys,

I have been driving my car for 2 or 3 months now and it keeps bugging me.

When driving in the city or country side roads, the steering wheel is very sensitive to the tracks in the road. When the white lines are on the road have just been redone and i drive over it with, i feel the steering wheel shake/vibrate.
On the freeway, even the slighest bit of wind or when passing a truck, i need both hands on the wheel to keep it straight. I am almost constantly making corrections to keep it in a straight line

I have not experienced any clunks or other type of play in the steering.
What do notice; I also drive VW Golf. When driving, if i let the steering wheel go, it always pulls itsself back to a straight line by itsself. My BMW does not do this. I always need to steer it back to a straight line myself. Is this normal?

Thanks for thinking with me.