E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Need E60 advice

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2013, 06:16 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: E39 touring....E32
Default Need E60 advice

I am looking at an 2007 E60 530 50k miles to buy. It's a two owner and I am new to E60. I currently have an E39 touring and an E32 also have had E34's an so on. I do my own work on my cars.

I have read a lot about the issues with the trans throttle body's and electronics and want some input on failure rate on this and other things to look for on this car. Thanks
Old 05-20-2013, 01:31 PM
Senior Members

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
My Ride: E60 530i

Originally Posted by BeDHeaD
I have read a lot about the issues with the trans throttle body's and electronics and want some input on failure rate on this and other things to look for on this car. Thanks
There are a lot to discuss. Each vehicle is different. You're referring to what BMW calls a "mechatronics" unit and what others refer to as the transmission "throttle body". Like I said each car is different and there are too many things for me to list. They're hit or miss. Reliability is not something I would not credit to BMW. I own 3 different chassis' and the E60 is the most worry some from things I see people post (although I've never had an issue)
Old 05-20-2013, 02:48 PM
New Members

My Ride: 2005 545i Sport

I own an Infiniti Q45, Lexus 430, Mercedes S320 and a BMW 545i at the moment.

The Japanese government affords its manufacturing base the greatest leeway in design and production.

The German government is crazy with their "green" concerns. I do mean "crazy".

100%; the Japanese car will afford less expense over the next 5 years.

As Achtung60 has stated many times: Japanese cars are more "reliable" than German cars. I 100% agree with that.