E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Liquid sloshing sound. Opinions Needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-20-2010, 01:54 PM
Senior Members

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
My Ride: E60 530i

I've been noticing for a few months now that when i stop at a red light or take off abruptly that i hear a liquid sloshing sound. Sounds like i have a bathtub in my car! At first i thought it was my gas tank but now I'm not so sure. I have the windows rolled up and I can actually hear a some sort of water back and forth. I didn't hear this until recently and I'm a little concerned as i read some people saying that they had water collecting in the roof area and failure to drain etc etc. Perhaps it's my gas tank...I'm not sure. Has anyone else heard their gastank from inside the vehicle? Anyone experienced this issue? What are you opinions? Thanks!
Old 12-20-2010, 02:36 PM
Contributors

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My Ride: 545I and a half dozen other rides

And you looked in your spare tire well?
Old 12-20-2010, 02:48 PM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 04' 545i, Sport Package, Black, Active Xenon, ARS, Aux Input '10 Tahoe, Black on Black, leather, Nav/XM, 20" tires, full body kit, power 2nd row, loaded '93 Jeep Wrangler, lifted 4.5", 33" meats, Rampage Recovery Bumper w/Tire Swing, etc 25' Aquasport Osprey, Center Console,2012 200 HO Etec

I havent heard my gas tank, and a failure to drain was my issue if you recall the thread about my flood... but I dont think the water would collect enough to "slosh" before seeping in somewhere. Although it wasnt the roof area that failed to drain for me, it was the drain under the ebox.
Old 12-20-2010, 02:56 PM
Senior Members

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts