E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

BMW Transmission Faults After Replacement

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2020, 11:20 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2008 BMW 528xi
Model Year: 2008
Engine: N52
Unhappy BMW Transmission Faults After Replacement

I have just replaced the transmission on my 2008 BMW 528xi (LCI), and I am running into some serious issues. I have spent hours researching and trying to fix these issues and have not been able to find a similar issue to mine. I have learned a lot from these forums but it is my first time posting on any car forum my entire life: I am at my last resort.

For background information, my original 6HP19 transmission started throwing the dreaded E clutch error. Long story I replaced the solenoids and serviced the transmission too late. I decided to purchase a used transmission off of eBay. I paid a premium for it as it had only 65k miles and came off of a 2008 BMW 528xi, which was an exact match. I replaced the transmission following the BMW TIS repair manual. Additionally, I replaced the 5 mechatronics to transmission seals, the mechatronic TCM connection seal, put new solenoids, new oil pan, and ZF Lifeguard fluid into the transmission. All of these parts were genuine ZF OEM parts.