E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Bimmer won't start need our forum gurus...

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2014, 12:01 PM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2006 e61
Default Bimmer won't start need our forum gurus...

I know please do your research etc... well I have and I see a plethora of reasons it could be. I am no mechanic but i am somewhat car savvy. Any steps any other tests anything would help please.

Specs:
2006 530xit 60k Miles

Problem:
The car would not start last night. Everything in the car comes on without codes or faults so then I disconnect the battery for 20 min then tested the voltage (11.7 reading).

I charged the battery and got it fully charged. After the charge and the disconnect of the battery I received 3 Malfunctions with still no start.

AWD and DSC malfunction!
Left Tail Lamp Malfunction!
Start-off assistance inactive!

*Update* would this mean that the SZL (Steering angle sensor) needs to be replaced? I have read a bit on the forum on this can this be fixed or replaced etc...?
Thank you so much and any help would be much appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails Bimmer won't start need our forum gurus...-img_4162.jpg  

Last edited by yanik; 11-08-2014 at 12:08 PM.
Old 11-08-2014, 02:29 PM
Senior Members

My Ride: E60 530d

nope, a faulty SZL won't stop the car from starting
and 11.7 seems low for the battery voltage, should be 12.6v at 100% charge, see here: Automotive battery - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

it could be the starter, but you'd hear clicks, it doesn't go bad just like that usually
Old 11-08-2014, 03:01 PM
New Members

Whe I try to start there is a tick and then a slight humm almost sounds like the same humm like u get from the self leveling suspension. Would a bad starter throw all these malfunctions? Anyway to test the starter on these?
Old 11-08-2014, 04:06 PM
Senior Members

My Ride: 2006 BMW 550i