DIY: Do It Yourself Share all your DIY experiences here. Ask how-to questions also!

Bump Stop cut on 545i Spring Install DIY

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2008, 09:37 AM
Senior Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 05 545i 6MT

So I've got the H&R Sports and Koni Yellows on the way and I will be performing the install in my own garage.

I have everything from compressor, floor mounted spring compressor, sockets and a lot of other tools.

I'm new to E60 and I have one question:
Is there a need to trim the bump stop to allow more suspension travel like on my previous STi, DSM Eclipse, and other Japanese cars?

Or is there a pre-built shorter bump stop that is available out there?

I know H&R Sports is not low enough to think about providing more suspension travel because I already have Sport Package suspension on mine but what mine is not.

Seems like there's not much detailed DIY spring install specific to E60 so I will take pics and post my comprehensive DIY when I get a chance.

If any of you DIYers know of a special things for me to watch out for (Ex: HID leveling on the control arm) prior the install, please post up! I don't want to learn the hard way!

BTW, collections of my spring install experiences:
Benz C 320
Subaru 2.5 RS (GC8), WRX, WRX STi, Saab 92X
Mitsubishi 2gen DSM Eclipse GST/X, 3000GT
Honda Civic, DelSol, Accord
Toyota Solara SE, Celica GT, 4Runner, Tundra
BMW E46s, soon my E60!
Infiniti FX35

Thanks again
Old 07-26-2008, 12:25 PM
Contributors

My Ride: See sig :)

I had my bumpstops trimmed on my e63 a tad bit aswell... I dont think their are any available for the e60/63s... just trimm them
Old 07-26-2008, 01:44 PM
Contributors