The Competition Discuss the competition to the BMW 5 Series here. Mercedes, Audi, etc...

The New Cadillac CTS-V, Wow!! Well Not Really.

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2008, 02:05 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2011 M3 Convertible, Alpine White/black, 6 speed 2011 535xi Tasmin Green, Venetian Beige

I was reading about the new 2009 Cadillac CTS-V in the March issue of Automobile Magazine and it sure does sound impressive. Actually the 2008 CTS is Motor Trend's Car Of The Year!! The CTS-V has a 550HP motor that puts out an astonishing 550 lb-Ft!! At $59,000 it almost seems like a bargain, too. The only problem is that it's well, a Cadillac and I have some experience with them. Since I was a child, my father has always owned Cadillacs, right up until his brand spanking new 2008 DTS and, without exception they have all been pieces of crap. Poor finish, cheap materials and unreliability continue to plague them. Of course in recent years it's gotten better but it's still a crap box. The trim on the right side of my father's passenger seat has a hole in it and is cracked. There are a bunch of wires falling down under the driver's size seat. The cup holders are cracked. The cruise control doesn't work. The car rattles and squeaks. It has been in the shop 5 times in 3 months for repairs that would horrify and amaze the average BMW owner. Maybe it's me but I fail to see the benefit of owning a brutally fast car that cannot seem to be able to keep itself from falling apart and having to pay $60,00 for the privilege.
Old 02-20-2008, 02:21 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 2011, X6 Hybrid . Alpine White , every option. 20" Conti' NON runflats,OEM trunk spoiler , LUX V3 AE's , HP Thunder Fogs , custom front bumper reflector delete........

Yup !! At least if it's a Mercedes................. it's ... well a German car !!
Old 02-20-2008, 04:23 PM
Contributors