Lounge How was your day? Anything goes but please keep it PG-13!

Which DSLR should I get?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2010, 11:54 AM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2008 Silverstone II E60 M5 2012 E70 AW X5 50i Sport w/ LCI Aero Kit and Rocker Panels

The G10 just isn't cutting it anymore -- I need a DSLR. I'm no professional and don't plan on making photography a hobby. I want to take some really nice pictures of my family and am missing great opportunities with the G10. Nothing else really matters. So what do I go with?

Option 1 -- Canon Rebel XS vs. Nikon D3000

or

Option 2 -- Canon Rebel T1i vs. Nikon D5000

I read on dpreview that the lenses that come with these camera's don't do so well on the higher resolution camera's listed in #2, so I'm debating if they are even worth the additional cost. I already have a new Sony 1080 HD Handycam, so I don't care for the video on these camera's, which I know is a plus with option 2.

So here are the questions:

1) Do I do Nikon or Canon (Which is more user-friendly)?
2) Does Option 2 even make sense for me? Are the quality of the images between Option 1 and Option 2 that noticeable?
Old 07-06-2010, 12:02 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 2004 530i
Model Year: 2004

I'm Canon guy, so I'd say T1i. Not because of the HD video capability but the processor has been upgraded since XS. It's faster with more MP. And the video comes in handy when you don't want to carry 2 pieces of equipments all the time. Also, the T1i price has come down a lot after T2i comes out. GL with your search.

You'll be fine with the kit lens, When you get good at it, then think about investing more on lenses.
Old 07-06-2010, 12:13 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 05 545i loaded!