F10 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the F10 5 Series. The F10 made it's debut in 2010 as a MY2011.

Adaptive drive vs M Sport suspension

Search this Thread

Old 11-11-2010, 07:33 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello, newbie here.

I'm about to order a F10 535D Msport. In the UK there is the option of adaptive drive, this then deletes the M Sport suspension. Would the adaptive drive in its most sporty setting be more sporty/keenly handling than the M Sport set up?

Thanks for your help
Old 11-11-2010, 09:08 AM
Contributors

My Ride: My ex-ride: EU '08 LCI 520dA. Space Grey, Sport Seats in Black Leather/Fabric Anthracite, Sport Steering Wheel, A/C with Extended Features, Hi-Fi Speakers, Cup Holders, Cruise with Braking function, Folding Rear Seats, Xenons, Park Distance Control.

Hey indus and welcome!

It's a F10 BMW 535dA M Sport.

The M suspension only lowers the car one centimeter.
I'd go for the Adaptive Drive, it also has the Sport and Sport+ options.
Old 11-11-2010, 11:43 PM
Senior Members

My Ride: 11 550i Sophisto Gray/Oyster Black/Anthracite, Sprt Trns, DHP, IAS, SP, PP1, PP2, CWP, HUD, DAP, AVSP, SF RS, CA, ACC - Euro Del

Compared to my 2008 550i M-Sport with the M-Sport Suspension to my 2011 550i with Adaptive Drive in Sport+ mode, I prefer the M-Sport Suspension. It feels much better, more consistent. I am not saying that the IAS is bad, I just like the athletic feel of the M-Sport Suspension. The best way for the OP to tell is to drive the 2 versions back to back.
Old 11-12-2010, 03:13 AM
Members

My Ride: 2006 535d MSport ; Retired at 110,000 miles October 2010: 2010 535d MSport; Space Grey/Black Dakota, Adaptive Xenons, High Beam assistant, Prof. Nav, Voice Control,SAT, Adaptive Drive, Powered boot, Comfort Access, Climate Comfort W/Screen, Surround View, Side/Rear Sunblinds, Comfort Seats, HUD, Active Cruise, TV, Prof Loudspeaker, Night Vision, Lane Change warning, 4-Zone A/C, split rear seats, Speed Limit Display