E61 Touring Discussion The touring is also known as the wagon version of the 5 series.

Frustrated newbie needing help

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2011, 08:32 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Im a frustrated newbie looking for answers....

I bought a 2006 530xi wagon a few years ago and have had fairly severe vibrations at certain speeds (usually around 50 and 70mph). I've taken it to 2 bmw dealers, another mechanic specializing in BMW, and two tire shops. I had it re-aligned, changed the tires, and they can't find the problem. At first, the mechanic said the wheels were bent, but the tire shops said they weren't after balancing them. Mechanic confirmed nothing is wrong with the front end. As i have not been able to find this wheel on other 2006 xi's (only similiar style on 7series), I am wondering if it is the wrong wheel and offset which may be causing the vibrations (but have no idea). See picture attached. Any idea what model these are?
I am running 245/40 zr 18 tires and prefer not to have to buy new tires as i just got these. Im almost willing to buy new wheels to see if that will work, but that is an expensive gamble. Please help--its painful driving a 5 series with this problem!!
Attached Thumbnails Frustrated newbie needing help-imag0121.jpg  
Old 12-09-2011, 09:02 AM
Senior Members

My Ride: 2007 E61 M5, 1989 Z1

If the wheels are off a 7 series there is one thing to note: the 7 series uses larger diameter wheel bolts (14mm vs 12mm) than the 5 series so the taper of the 5 series bolts might not seat correctly on the wheels. The hub sizes between the two cars are the same so the wheels should center properly and so the bolt size difference shouldn't matter.
Old 12-09-2011, 09:22 AM
Members

Originally Posted by phelix