E61 Touring Discussion The touring is also known as the wagon version of the 5 series.

E61 worth it?

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2014, 08:35 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: Miata Starion Forester
Default E61 worth it?

Hey folks - I'm a noob and lurker here. Lately I've been changing pace in life ( settling down, getting engaged etc ) so the toys are going and I'm wanting a reliable wagon. Here's my dilemma.

E61 or an E91. We won't even touch a manual vs auto debate ( s/o would prefer I get an auto - some days I agree, esp on long road trips )

Cargo capacity, and N54 engine aside, why should I nab an E61?

Before you ask, yes I plan on modifying it - mostly for handling, less for straight line.

Input is much appreciated!
Old 04-07-2014, 10:50 AM
Senior Members

My Ride: 2010 535 xi - M Sport Pkg & other goodies

The driver to me should be how much space you need for passengers and cargo. E61 is obviously got more luxuries in it than a 3 series. It'll be bigger and weighs more, if handling is a concern. Its handling is great for its size, don't get me wrong.

For us, it wasn't an option even to look at a 3 series, because I have two kids under 10, plus a dog.

So I looked at luxury wagons in the size range of the 5 wagon. Like the XC70 we came out of, and an MB E wagon.
Old 04-08-2014, 03:22 PM
New Members

Handling it's that large of a concern. It's not like I'm going to expect it to handle like a Miata ( my current DD is an 08 lowered on Ohlin Road&Track coilvoers ). Hell, I could make my old Crown Vic do some terrifyingly incredible things through corners as long as I got the weight transferring right

Out of curiousity, when lowering an E61 via springs and the air suspension, does it handle worse? Or would I be needing to hunt down the lowering links to make it better? Or, at the end of the day, might as well go full coilovers ( does that involve removing the entire air suspension system, compressor and all? )
Old 04-08-2014, 03:45 PM