E61 Touring Discussion The touring is also known as the wagon version of the 5 series.

A6 Avant Comparison...

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2006, 12:34 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here and this is my first post. I'm considering getting either an SUV or another wagon to replace my '04 E500 as we have a kid on the way. My wife drives an '02 Audi allroad. If it comes to a wagon, its likely between the A6 avant and the 530xi touring.

Anyone compare the two. Also, for those of you with little ones, does having two wagons work for you or is an SUV really needed?

Thanks in advance for your thoughts.
Old 02-14-2006, 01:20 PM
Senior Members

My Ride: E61 530d Touring, May 2004

If you enjoy driving, forget an SUV and get a real car.

Both the 5 series touring and A6 are excellent "wagons" (or "estate cars" in UK speak). Matter of preference comes in - IMHO the Audi interior is much smarter and better put together, also reportedly their i-drive equivalent is better (but no direct experience personally).
On the other hand, whilst the gap has closed a lot with the latest A6, the BM still has a clear advantage in terms of driver "feel"
Old 02-14-2006, 01:40 PM
Members

My Ride: E61 525i SE Touring Automatic - Titanium Grey II, Auburn-Dakota Leather, 17" Light Alloy Wheels Star-Spoke Styling 138, Anthracite Headlining, Maple Wood, Electric Front Seats, Front Seat Heating, Automatic Air Conditioning Advanced, Navigation System Professional, Bluetooth phone prep, Professional radio, Hi-Fi Loudspeaker system, Park Distance Control, Rear Side Airbags, Side Blinds

Don't go for SUV unless you live in an area where road-clearance is key and an Avant or Touring won't do.

I've tried the A6 Avant and 5 series Touring. Both are very, very good cars in my opinion. It comes down which one you like better. My preferance was the BMW because the car 'feels' right to me in terms of steering, roadholding etc. The A6 feels less direct, softer and less of a drivers car.