E60 M5 Discussion The almighty M5. Have you seen one today?

Why are TT engines viewed as "inferior"?

Search this Thread

Old 10-04-2009, 02:57 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2007 M6 | 2008 M3

I've always been curious why consumers view turbocharged engines as an inferior engineering achievement, while a high-revving normally aspirated engine seems to get all the acclaim. While I'm not an engineer (by degree) or mechanic (by trade), I've been modifying my own cars for some time now, mostly performance upgrades. I've blueprinted both NA and FI engines, and can honestly say that designing a turbocharged engine is orders of magnitude greater in difficulty than a normally aspirated engine. Building a high-revving engine is not difficult at all. Virtually any normally aspirated engine can be made to rev beyond 8K and put out over 100HP/liter (yes, even a meager 4cyl found in a Kia can be re-built to put out 100HP/liter). All you need are stronger connecting rods, a reinforced crank, high-compression forged pistons, more aggressive cams, a ported and built cylinder head, plus headers. These are all parts that are available "off-the-shelf" from various manufacturers (both OEM and aftermarket). The tuning is also rather straightforward and can usually be banged out in a day on a chassis dyno.