E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

looking to chip my car any suggestions

Search this Thread

Old 11-02-2007, 01:20 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2008 535xi- Alpine White, Natural Brown Interior, Sport Pack, Premium Pack, Comfort Access, 20 way Multi-contor seats, Navigation, 18" rims, Cold Weather Pack

I just bought a 2008 535xi and i am curious as to what chip i should look for to put into my car? I am new to these things and need some serious educating. Is this what people refer to as remapping? Also can BMW do this so i dont affect my guarantee? Also what kind of hp and torque am i looking at? Please help!!!
Old 11-02-2007, 01:56 PM
Contributors

A "chip" usually refers to a plug in device which sits inline between the computer and the engine. A remap is where they reprogram your existing computer. A remap allows for more flexibility in what can be altered and will give better performance and reliability than a chip. A remap is also supposedly virtually undectable to BMW, whereas a chip is obvious and would most likely have to be removed prior to your car going in for service/etc each time. The advantage on the other hand is that a chip _can_ be removed very easily, whereas a remap is permanent (unless you get the company to "unremap" your engine). Of course, a remap costs more, and has to be performed by an expert - whereas a chip can be purchased mail order and slotted in by anyone capable of changing a light bulb.