E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Exhaust and Back Pressure Myth

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2007, 06:06 AM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2005 BMW 545i, Silver Grey, Sport Package, R. Shades, Cold Pkg, Sat. Rad., Prem. Sound.

Below is an excerpt from a member on Corvette Forum regarding back pressure:

Larry,
I'm well aware of valve overlap and exhaust tuning. I've been a mechanic, and a shop manager for over 16 years. I work on everything from 170 hp snowmobiles (now that's where you find TUNED exhaust!), to cars that I've built, to 500 hp snowcats.

Your concept of the exhaust gas "holding" the incoming a/f charge in the cylinder is way off -this isn't a 2 stroke.

During the valve overlap period, some fresh air and fuel DOES escape out the exhaust, and that is desireable**. The desired result is to "wash" ALL of the old exhaust from the cylinder, and the valve overlap period is when this is accomplished. Any remaining exhaust gas in the cylinder at this time will dilute the fresh charge, making it weaker.

**From a perfromance perspecitve, but this is why OEM's have to keep the lobe separation wide and duration as short as possible, keeping "leakage" to a minimum. This is necessary to reduce hydrocarbon emissions and optimize fuel economy.