E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

DVD Navigation Issue

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2012, 09:29 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey Folks! Newbie here. Wanted some help from you experts. I have an 08 535xi w/ DVD navigation. I bought it from a used car dealer about 2 years ago and when I purchased it, they sold it to me with an aftermaket DVD navigation disc. After about 4 months of ownership, I started to notice that I would get error screens with the DVD nav. I would simply need to take it out, wait a few moments, then place the DVD back in. I dealt with the issue for about a year and a half.

The problem progress and it got worse and worse. About 2 months ago I purchased an original DVD Nav Disc from the dealer hoping this would resolve my issue. The problem was not fixed at all. As a matter of fact, after it completed the upgrade it completely disregards the fact that the DVD Nav disc is in the player. I'm thinking that I need a new DVD Nav player but they are pretty expensive. Any thoughts? Thanks is advance for any help you guys can offer.
Old 07-24-2012, 09:50 PM
Members

My Ride: 2009 BMW 528i Space Gray | Premium Package | Sports Package | Navigation

Originally Posted by 08TwinTurbo
Hey Folks! Newbie here. Wanted some help from you experts. I have an 08 535xi w/ DVD navigation. I bought it from a used car dealer about 2 years ago and when I purchased it, they sold it to me with an aftermaket DVD navigation disc. After about 4 months of ownership, I started to notice that I would get error screens with the DVD nav. I would simply need to take it out, wait a few moments, then place the DVD back in. I dealt with the issue for about a year and a half.