E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Custom CAI and Head shield

Search this Thread

Old 08-21-2013 | 04:38 PM
Members

Default Custom CAI and Head shield

Hey guys, I figured I'd post my latest project so I could get some feedback from all of ya. So for the past month I've had the mod bug and have dropped more than enough money into my 545i. I was looking for some performance mods and after the ram air scoop I figured I'd get a CAI, but after reading the reviews of the AFE intake and the problems with heat soak i figured hey im an engineer time to build my own setup! So I went out to my local auto parts store, picked up a Spectre cone filter and some high temp engine paint. I then took a trip to home depot and bought a sheet of aluminum to make a heat shield and some weather stripping for the edges. I made a template out of some aluminum I had laying around and when I was satisfied with my design, I traced it onto my new piece of aluminum and put it together. In the end I ended up paying something like $55 dollars on everything and about 2 hours or so. After driving the car for a week I can definitely feel a difference. I have not dynoed the car so I can't say this is actually working but I know I havent lost any power. I have taken the car on multiple long hard drives and when I feel the filter its cool to the touch, but when I touch the heat shield it burns. Here are some pics!Name:  IMG_1649_zps1b166562.jpg
Views: 21
Size:  172.3 KBName:  IMG_4333_zpse5ebd64e.jpg
Views: 34
Size:  176.1 KBName:  IMG_6763_zpsaadde761.jpg
Views: 20
Size:  174.5 KB
Old 08-21-2013 | 07:04 PM
Senior Members

Nice work on the heat shield! Did you build a template with cardboard?
Old 08-21-2013 | 07:06 PM
Senior Members

What are the two clear/white looking hoses that route near the washer fluid filler cap?
Old 08-21-2013 | 07:53 PM
Members
Senior Members