E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

All your wheels and brakes are belong to somebody else

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2011, 01:01 PM
Senior Members

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Took my car in to have the front tires replaced, and realized I forgot my lug key. I couldn't find the lug key so I asked the shop what my options were. They told me they could break the old lugs off, so I gave them the go ahead and they went for it.

It only took them about 5 minutes to remove all four locking lugs from my car.

I'm a security guy by trade, so I am generally interested in other forms of security. I guess all tradesman have their tools, but this was a tool I was unfamiliar with. I mean, I figured it might take them a half hour and plenty of noise to get them removed, but nope. The lugs came off easily and they didn't make much noise other than the initial impact of the tool onto the lug.

Here is a photo of one of the locking lugs that I had on my car up until it was removed with the special tool. They basically just hammered a socket type deal on to the locking lug bolt and hooked a breaker bar up to it and then turned it free. You can see where the special socket bit into the sides of my locking lug nut, and that little bit of bite from the special socket was enough to pull all four of my locking bolts free within 5 minutes. Mind you that my bolts were tightened at ~85+ lb ft of torque.

All your wheels and brakes are belong to somebody else-brokenlug.jpg

Anyways, I just figured I'd share.
Old 01-31-2011, 01:10 PM
Former Vendor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: 14 550i

Yeah, there really isn't anyway to keep ppl away who really want your wheels. Maybe park on a hill?
Old 01-31-2011, 01:15 PM
Senior Members

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by acuteperformance