E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

Adding TPM's?

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2008, 07:32 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy

Firstly, thank you to everyone who provided their feedback in my "Regret Manual vs. Steptronic?" thread. I decided to go with the manual as I had nothing but fond memories of my past experiences with them. That, and it makes the car that much more unique along with its fairly rare anthracite wood package option.

Secondly, I'm new to the E60 world and have just purchased this 06 530i with 6M and Premium / Nav Packages tonight. The only thing I don't like is that it's not a Sport Package car like my current 02 530i SP. I'm looking into the Shadowline trim via Garry and am also looking for sportier wheels -- like these:

http://forums.e60.net/index.php?showtopic=56909#

These wheels do not have the TPM's. How would that work out for me? Do I buy my own (from Garry probably) and are they simple to install? Would the iDrive then pick them up/sense them? Does my car already have these installed? I have no iDrive experience, so please excuse the newb questions ...

I'm not thrilled about the Dunlop Run Flats that come with these wheels as I have read so many complaints about their stone-like feel. I can later replace them with Mich Pilot II's, right? I have only had those on my car and love 'em.

AND if you have the time: The Sport Package that came with my 02 model was more than cosmetic. It featured larger brakes, firmer / slightly lowered suspension, etc. Apparently the Sport Package on later models, like in 06, became purely cosmetic? All I have ever found listed was the Shadowline trim, Sport seats, and larger wheels as part of the package. Do I have this right?

Thanks again!
Old 06-25-2008, 07:44 PM
Contributors

My Ride: 545iSMGSilver GrayAuburn Dakota LeatherLogic 7 Premium SoundSports Package