E60, E61 Parts, Accessories and Mods Discussion about both stock and aftermarket parts for the E60. Accessories and modifications too!

2008 535 Angel Eye Upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 11-21-2011, 08:01 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2004 350z 2008 535 - Dads car, on the forum for him

Hi guys,

Im new to this forum. Im a 350z driver but my dad recently bought himself a 2008 535 (with the LCI). The car had yellow angel eyes, and i wanted to upgrade them to the newer bright white look for him (Hes a hardcore BMW guy, owned only beemers for the last 20+ years). So i searched around on this forum and found a couple threads (particularly this one - https://5series.net/forums/topic/592..._1#entry636357 by Geneatals )that suggested replacing the oem bulbs with GP Thunder Xenon/Plasma Super White 8500K "Quartz" Bulbs w/Ion Coating Standard Wattage.

So i followed the guides posted. Ordered two sets of those bulbs (4 bulbs total). I have never changed the bulbs on any of his previous models so i didnt realize that BOTH angel eyes are lit by only 1 bulb. So i put them in today, no problems. Only thing is i find that they are not very bright. Kind of dull. And when the projector headlight is on, you can barely see the angel eye around that light. However they are better looking than the yellow, but not bright like the new BMW Corona Rings or like any of the pictures that have been posted on this forum.

So i had a couple questions. I tried to PM Geneatals, but i guess im not allowed to pm anyone till i get a couple posts in on the forum.

First things first, and this is generally directed at Geneatals if he reads this, What is the second pair of H8 bulbs for? I read in your fogs thread that you used a different set of bulbs.

1)Is there anything i can do to make this current set up brighter/intense? (apart from tearing the light housing apart, i refuse to open them up)