E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

what's up with this?

Search this Thread

Old 11-25-2005, 11:41 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 2004 525i, 6-speed, sliver-gray metallic, premium package, professional navigation ... among other options

Central California has comfortable temperatures time of year. On many days, I don't need either heat or air conditioning. I'll press the "off" button and forget about it.

Yesterday, after driving home from Turkey Day dinner, the climate control kept turning itself on over and over, regardless of how many times I pressed "off." A few seconds would pass and then -- BOOM! -- it was back on again.

Has anyone experienced something similar?

I'm guessing it may have something to do with the reprogramming the dealer gave the car four weeks ago -- but I'm no BMW mechanic.
Old 11-26-2005, 03:52 AM
Members

Originally Posted by newsman' post='203511' date='Nov 26 2005, 03:41 AM
Central California has comfortable temperatures time of year. On many days, I don't need either heat or air conditioning. I'll press the "off" button and forget about it.

Yesterday, after driving home from Turkey Day dinner, the climate control kept turning itself on over and over, regardless of how many times I pressed "off." A few seconds would pass and then -- BOOM! -- it was back on again.

I'm guessing it may have something to do with the reprogramming the dealer gave the car four weeks ago -- but I'm no BMW mechanic.

The A/C system will come on to the last setting you had every time you restart the car, but I have never heard of it automatically coming on while driving. Do you have it set on AUTO? If so, it may come on to adjust the temp, even though you keep turning the A/C (snowflake) button off.
Old 11-26-2005, 05:10 AM
Contributors

My Ride: 2014 X5 xDrive 5.0 M Package Carbon Black Metallic/2008 M Roadster Imola Red