E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Visited a few tracks this month :)

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2008, 03:44 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've had my 550 for 7 months now, and in that time I attended almost half a dozen track events. 4 open track days and 1 DRIFT day.

Many people do not consider the E60 a "track" car, but for me, I like to have a well balanced car, something good to drive around town with, and enough for some "fun" at the track. No performance mods other than wheels/tires/suspension, and I was able to hold my own, was one of the faster cars in the non-advanced run group.

I signed up for the drift event because as a driver I want to know how to control the car if/when I lose control, purposely or not.

Here's a teaser. Will provide more pictures and videos later.

For the track, I've fitted the car with a super aggressive tire setup, but everything else is relatively ok for the streets. It *does* rub in front, but not enough for the fender to cut/pop the tire.

Front: VMR Wheels VB3 Hyper Black 19x9.5 ET22 + 15mm Spacer on 265/35/18 Michelin Pilot Sport PS2
Rear: VMR Wheels VB3 Hyper Black 19x9.5 ET22 on 285/35/18 Michelin Pilot Sport PS2
Suspension: Eibach Pro Kit + Koni FSD.

Two drawbacks that I've learned to live with is the rear diff.... Peg leg burnouts are not fun, but I think BMW was able to dial out the sluggishness using the DSC. Second drawback is the automatic transmission. The tiptronic is basically useless because the ECU upshift and downshifts for you. It reacts relatively slowly to throttle inputs esp if you are coming out of the corners. Since I'm not racing for tenths of a second, I ended up leaving it in "S" mode. The only times using the M mode was useful was if I was planning to pass someone, so i can downshift a little faster.