E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Trunk Lid Gap

Search this Thread

Old 03-19-2012, 03:27 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hello,
I purchased my 06' 525i as certified pre-owned form the dealer, and noticed this off the lot but it didn't bother me too much to say anything. I'm not sure if the gap has grown wider, or I have just noticed it more, but there is a visible gap between the right side of the trunk lid and the body of the car. The left side looks just fine. The gap is sealed (no water leaks in) but I'm afraid it will eventually get bigger. Any idea how easy (if at all possible) it is to adjust the hinge so that the lid closes tighter on the body? Am I going to need to go to a body shop or dealer for this? Any help would be appreciated, I am a newbie about BMW's. Thanks!!
Attached Thumbnails Trunk Lid Gap-1.jpg   Trunk Lid Gap-2.jpg  
Old 03-19-2012, 04:09 PM
Contributors

That gap, based on your pictures is HUGE and the trunk lid doesn't line up properly. How long ago did you buy the car?

As a BMW CPO purchase this is something that should have NEVER made it off the dealer's lot without a repair/adjustment

If you waited too long the dealer may have a solid case that YOU had a wreck and the fix is on YOU!
Old 03-21-2012, 07:21 AM
Members

Normally that gap isn't the smallest but this is definitely too big. Something is wrong. Has it been hit from the back?
Old 03-21-2012, 10:22 AM
Senior Members

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
My Ride: 2008 535i LCI with sports/premium package, Sports trans with paddle shifters, CF emblems, JB4 Software, Dinan Exhaust, Navigation, M5Tech body kit, Carbon wrap interrior trim and CIC Controller.

OUCH! I would also imagine you will have a water ingress problem as well. With that size of a gap I can't imagine the seal doing very much. I agree with Ballistic, possibly a rear end hit. I would get it checked out and hopefully it?s just an adjustment.