E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire pressures

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2006, 09:40 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My background is in go kart racing, a quarter pound or half a pound of air pressure can make a significant difference in track performance but for my cars I am wanting to conduct a poll so as to get an idea of what people found to be useful tire pressures for a relatively aggressive driving style where performance is preferred over comfort. I have an 03 M5 and 04 530i. Both have the factory wheels with Michelin PS/2's on the M5 and Goodyear eagle F1 GSD3 on the 04 530i. I found on the M5 that the PS/2's are dramatically superior to the runflat's that came with the car. I've only had one flat which was fixed with the aerosol can of goo until I could get to the tire dealer but otherwise that's the only drawback. The Goodyear eagle Formula One GSD3's are awesome, make the Dunlop runflat's feel like they had been taken off a coal cart from the last century, maybe make that two centuries ago!!!!

So what have you found to be good tire pressures? My personal opinion is that the factory recommendations are too soft and give a mushy feeling from handling/performance standpoint. My dealer states that the lower air pressures enhance tire longevity but the statement immediately made me realize that he is seriously out of touch with the physics of tire dynamics.

The roads in southern California where I live are generally reasonably well-maintained but the concrete freeway is are often times pretty broken up and uneven. Currently in the M5 I am running 44 pounds in the back and 40 pounds in the front tires. Any suggestions, comments and/or perspectives would be appreciated.
Old 06-01-2006, 03:37 AM
Contributors