E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Time to get some opinions and advice

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2007, 08:21 PM
Super Moderator

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
My Ride: G30 M550i
Model Year: 2018

Okay, it's getting to be that time for me -- time to place my order! (Wow, has it really been three years? It seems like only yesterday when I was over there on RF anticipating the arrival of my new baby and reading all the crazy posts from the haters...)

Oh well, here's what I'm going to do...

2008 Alpine White 550i with sport package and sport automatic transmission (he says as he wipes a tear from his SMG-less eye...)

I'm going for every option available (yes, even the lane change departure warning system -- what the hell, it may just save my life since I often push the limits a little on some of my road trips...)

Now please understand that I've been driving a white BMW since 1989 and I just love the color. Aside from it being sort of my trademark nowadays, I really enjoy the low-maintenance of the color and am not equipped (and am too busy) to keep a darker (or deeper) color car up to any type of high standard so I'm pretty against going with something else -- except that I'm very intrigued by the Carbon Black offering. I still think I should go with the white and I'm sure I'll hear many of you tell my to go with the black but my gut says to play it safe. I don't know, maybe if I end up seeing one in person, I'll be better equipped to make a good decision.