E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

Steering column lock warning engine not starting E60

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2019, 12:31 AM
New Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: BMW 520d cream leather interior
Default Steering column lock warning engine not starting E60

Hi all, newbie here with his first major BMW 2006 520d E60 106k problem!
Wife went to start car after work but engine didn't turn over. She said red steering lock light came on (no yellow warning just straight to red) and on iDrive "Steering wheel lock malfunction" warning (but she cant be sure of wording!). Steering wheel still turned so lock not engaged.
AA towed to BMW indy garage who who said new steering column (555+vat), new battery, new IBS lead (300+vat).
Been searching through threads here (which have been great thanks) but can't find if steering wheel locks with this warning light. If it doesn't, does that mean new steering column not needed??
Drivers side front tyre was wearing on outside and last time i drove it, was pulling to right (right hand drive).
Non starting happened next time my wife drove car so didn't have time to investigate.
Any help welcomed as to process of repair-new battery first along with IBS lead-how do you rate second hand leads (about 40-80 quid on fleabay) and second hand steering colums- about same-can these be used instead of spending a small fortune on a brand new one??
Thanks
Old 11-12-2019, 10:50 AM
New Members

Received 69 Likes on 61 Posts
My Ride: 2009 535xi Touring 6MT, 2001 325i 5MT
Engine: N54, M54