E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

software upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2005, 05:24 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hi, newbie here - I just bought a bmw 2005 545 and I see a lot of posts here about "upgrading software" to resolve issues. How can I found out:

- what version I currently have?
- what version upgrades are available if any and what fixes do they include?
- how to get the software upgrades?

Thanks!
Old 02-05-2005, 05:59 PM
Super Moderator

My Ride: F02 LCI Individual
Model Year: 2013

Originally Posted by sfbmw545' date='Feb 6 2005, 03:24 AM
[snapback]87143[/snapback]
Your dealer can tell you what software version your car currently uses and if there is an upgrade available.
Problem is, that they might not do it for free, if it's just for the fact that you want the upgrade.
So just tell your dealer about known problems (you read here on the board) and that your car has those problems... The dealer will upgrade the software under warranty.
The best thing is, to read this forum, since all updates and what they fix are discussed here.
Old 02-05-2005, 09:20 PM

Originally Posted by sfbmw545' date='Feb 5 2005, 09:24 PM
How can I found out:

Thanks!
When you take it in for service, you must request identification of the CIP version (as there are several different software modules/versions in the e60). I was also told by my SA that they will upgrade the software to the extent possible whenever the car is in for warranty service; they will also upgrade the software if you bring the car in for any recalls.

However, if you are just bringing the car in for maintenance, they will probably charge you to upgrade the software as noted by Iceman. Thus, follow Iceman's recommendation and bring the car in for warranty service complaining of the things that you know an upgrade will fix -- these things are described on various posts in this forum.
Old 02-05-2005, 09:23 PM
Members