E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

smg

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2006, 03:45 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

HI All,
I have very little experience as a driver of manual transmission. i recently purchased a 530 with smg. how do i get the best out of this driving machine. When do i shift etc. was previously told to shift @ 2500 rpms. do i shift down to 2nd from 3rd when comming to a stop? if im cruising on the highway at 70mph in 3rd gear and some idiot ease in front of me, do i temporarily down shift to 2nd gear then back to 3rd to pass him. Aside from being physically clutchless how is driving a regular stick different from smg?
Old 01-08-2006, 04:09 AM
Contributors

My Ride: 2005 545i (SMG) Titanium Gray Black Interior, Anthracite Trim M-tech kit Sport Package Premium Sound Satellite Radio Active Cruise Comfort Seats Navigation Folding rear seats

You don't need to worry so much about when you shift, because the engine will match revs for you.

There is a trick to smooth shifting:

Accelerate like normal, and when you are ready to shift gently lift your foot pressure off the accelerator pedal. Don't remove your foot completely, but gently release a small amount of pressure. Think of it like this: "Don't lift your shoe off the pedal, but lift your foot inside your shoe." I read that somewhere else on this forum, and it's a great explanation.

Then click the shifter to change gears up. The engine will match revs and shift. Once the shift has completed, apply pressure to the accelerator pedal again. You will have a smooth, comfortable shift using this method.