E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

run flats on leased vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2010, 06:00 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

My 08 535i came with Dunlop run flats. I'm sure I will have to replace the tires before lease end. My question is, must I return the car with Dunlop run flats, or can I return with non run flats (as long as they are same quality)?
Thanks
Walt
Old 04-19-2010, 06:07 AM
Members

My Ride: BMW 525d M Sport 2006

i'm no expert, but i think you have to return them with run flats, since they are of a different value (run flats are more expensive), so if you hand it back with normal tyres, then you're sort of giving them less back !
Old 04-19-2010, 06:24 AM
Contributors

My Ride: 2008 Porsche 911 Carrera S Convertible. Midnight Blue, 6 Speed.Retired - 2007 997 Carrera S, Midnight Blue, Grey leather, premium audioRetired - 2007 550i, Monaco Blue over Beige, Navigation, Logic 7, Cold Weather Pack, Comfort Access, Sport Package
Model Year: 2008

Assuming your current set is in generally good order, you could take the runflats off and store them, replace them with better tires and stick your original set of run flats back on as you return the car. For me, my 550 was transformed by switching out the run flats for a better high performance summer tire. I get the safety benefits of runflats, but they destroy the ride/handling in an E60. It's not like you can cruise at autobahn speeds in the US - if we could, I'd stick with the runflats.
Old 04-19-2010, 06:30 AM
Contributors

My Ride: 2011 M3 Convertible, Alpine White/black, 6 speed 2011 535xi Tasmin Green, Venetian Beige

Car must be returned with run flats.
Old 04-19-2010, 06:50 AM
Members

My Ride: 2004 545i Sport Pak

look in your lease agreement and talk to your dealer. We returned a 325i with pretty low tire tread and they didn't charge, but it was at their discretion.