E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Lost in Navigation - please help

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2011, 07:39 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: 06' 530xi ~ Metallic Grey ~ Cold Weather Pkg ~ Premium Pkg ~ iPod Hookup

Hi everyone,

First like to point out that this is my first posting/BMW so please excuse me if I sound like a complete newbie. I actually just purchased a used 2006 530XI in great condition from someone who had the extended warranty so it has been regularly maintained through BMW.

My question has to do with the iDrive system and the navigation in particular. I cannot count how many forums I have looked at trying to figure out the best way to update my software version and I seem to be running in circles. First off, I do not see any indication of what software version my car is using so I am not sure if I am just missing it somewhere. Right now, pressing the menu button brings up a screen with color display of 5 options which I can select (right for navigation, middle for info, etc) and it then goes into a display that is split with one bigger than the other. Does this help identify which version I'm running? That being said, I did burn a CD-R with v32 (supposedly the latest firmware) and inserted it into the DVD unit...nothing happened. I also burned a copy of 2011 professional map - EAST on a DVD-R and also had no luck with that (kept saying to insert navigation disc). If someone could please clarify what I need to do to determine how to upgrade software and get the latest maps, I would really appreciate it. Thanks! =)
Old 05-16-2011, 10:23 AM
Members

My Ride: 2006 530xiT, Sep. 2005 build, silver gray/gray/black anthracite, Steptronic, Premium, Premium Sound, NAV, PDC.
Model Year: 2006