E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Insurance claim question.....

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2007, 04:04 PM
Contributors

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Arrow

Okay, a month ago, someone hit me. http://forums.e60.net/index.php?showtopic=35520

This is my first accident and it's very minor thank goodness. I'm a total newbie when it comes to insurance claims. Keep in mind that she does not have any of my insurance information, only my drivers license number, and my mailing address. She doesn't even have my license plate number (no plates ). Oh, and I reside in California.

Here's the deal, she decided to file a claim with her own insurance. Her insurance calls me, asks me for my statement of what happened etc. Now, I have a few questions.

A) I want to file a claim through insurance to have my damages replaced. Who should I contact? Her insurance or have my insurance deal with her's? Whats the process?
If I file the claim and they award me lets say $500 to repaint the bumper. Can I use that $500 and buy myself a mtech kit and have it painted??
C) Since the cop said that fault is probably 50/50, is there anyway my claim will go through?
D) Since she only has my mailing address and my driver's license, is there a way for her to contact my insurance? I do not want my insurance involved period because I do not want my rates to go up over something stupid.
Old 01-27-2007, 04:06 PM
Senior Members

My Ride: 2006 525i, Premium,Cold,Xenon Packages

b) I think you need to submit the receipt for the repair and they reimburse you, they dont just give-away a check for $500 ..
Old 01-27-2007, 04:08 PM
Contributors

Originally Posted by coolguy' post='384216' date='Jan 27 2007, 08:06 PM
b) I think you need to submit the receipt for the repair and they reimburse you, they dont just give-away a check for $500 ..