E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

iDrive Retrofits

Search this Thread

Old 10-31-2005, 11:00 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Ride: UK 2005 530d E61

Firstly as a newbie I have to say this is a great forum. It's helped me a lot during my E61 aquisition and since.

I have two questions about adding functionality to iDrive. Firstly I gather it is possible to add extended voice control to the iDrive system. I've read a couple of posts on this but I have a few questions: (1) Is this possible with Sat Nav Pro (2) is there any difference according to car build date and (3) does the split centre button have to be fitted, or can I just go with a software update and the existing button on the steering wheel? I'd be interested in hearing from anybody who's done this thorough a UK dealer. My dealer says it is possible but it is costly.

Secondly, I'm after adding the aux-in audio for the kids' DVD player. My dealer says this is probably not possible with SatNavPro and 6-CD fitted. Is that so?

Any help much appreciated (and sorry if I didn't catch all previous info on these topics in my browsing!)
Old 10-31-2005, 12:32 PM
Senior Members

Hi sumu, I've done both on my April '04 build.

(1) Voice is fine if you have SatNav Pro
(2) Not sure, might have to be post March '04
(3) I suppose it doesn't *have* to be fitted, but it comes as part of the kit. The steering wheel button is enabled too.
As to cost, it's around ?170 inc VAT. Not what I'd call expensive (for BMW!)

No problem with the Aux-In with ProNav and 6CD changer either. Same set-up as me. The standard location for it is in the glove box, so if it's for the kids DVD, you might want to see if the dealer can locate it elsewhere (or run a cable under the passenger seat). Cost for this was about ?140, again reasonable, imo.
Old 10-31-2005, 12:45 PM
Members

My Ride: UK 2005 530d E61

Hi browellm,