E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

How long do you think they will last?

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2008, 04:39 AM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

This is my first post; forgive me if it's not appropriate for this forum.

By way of introduction, I'm a personal finance writer by trade. When it comes to cars, I tell my readers to "buy good cars slightly used, maintain them carefully, and drive 'em until the wheels fall off".

Though I have owned various "toy" sports cars off and on over the years, when it comes to daily drivers, I follow my own advice. I've had my '95 E36 325is since 1998 (BMW certified used), and it has been a joy to own. But it now has 160k miles, and it's tired and worn. Time for a "new" car.

I want to replace it with another BMW, and on paper the best choice is an '04-'05 530i with manual trans and the sport package.

But. I look at how these cars evolved from the E39, and I look at what has failed over the years on my E36 (and on what I know of failures on older BMWs like E38s), and I'm a little concerned about how these electronics-heavy cars will hold up over the long term.

What do you owners think? If I buy, say, an '05 530i with 35k miles on it, and drive it hard but maintain it well -- garaged, scheduled services done on time, regular detailing, etc. -- will I get 10 years and 120k more miles worth of mostly-reliable service out of it, as I have with my E36? Or will it start melting at some point before that? Is there anything in particular I should look out for when shopping, or any particular options to avoid in the interest of longevity?

Thanks very much, and again I apologize if this post isn't in the right place.
Old 06-17-2008, 04:49 AM
Senior Members