E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!

hi im new to bmw

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2010, 06:32 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I have never owned bmw before, but Im about to deal with 545i smg. Actually Im still worrying about its(05 545i 85k) condition. Its carfax records are just clean, but when I did test drive,shift up was not smooth at all(I was driving with auto drive) especially 1st to 2nd. The dealer(not bmw) said it is normal because of it is smg. Are there any recomanded check lists about smg?

Thank you
Old 01-26-2010, 10:25 PM
Contributors

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
My Ride: Jet Black '05 545i, Sport/Premium Pkg, Steptronic, Adaptive Xenon, Nav, L7, Blue2th, PDC,

Welcome aboard!

now about the shifting up not being smooth part, are you talking about throttle responce, or a jerky launch from stop or worst yet a "slam" from a rolling stop? our cars have this drive-by-wire feature. the throttle is controlled electronically whereas most other cars, like a civic, are controlled by a cable. this drive-by-wire feature causes a brief delay in throttle responce. now considering the year of the 5er, i think the software needs to be updated by a BMW dealer (this wont fix the throttle delay but may help with the jerky starts and stop). this may improve on the driveability of the car but, a bigger problem may be looming ahead. my '05 545 had two software updates and both times made the jerky starts and stop tolerable.

use the search function using the key words "transmission slam" and try to read thru all the threads so you become the informed buyer. good luck
Old 01-27-2010, 12:52 AM
Senior Members

My Ride: 2006 BMW 550i

Originally Posted by e6t.lab.rat
Welcome aboard!