E60 Discussion Anything and everything to do with the E60 5 Series. All are welcome!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Help with the key fob

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2009, 06:53 PM
Members

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking

OK... Here we go
i just purchased a 2004 530i with the idrive screen. not nav. i was only given 1 key and NO owners manual for the vehicle. I found a PDF version of the manual and figured out how to work the memory seats and some other limited things i didnt know about the car like the extended arm rest. tonight while locking my car, i realized that i dont always get the confimation chirp. i was wondering why that was. i started playing with the key and just kinda pressing buttons on and off, pressing and holding, pressing in different sequences ...etc...
i realized that if i press and hold down the unlock button, the windows roll down and the sun roof opens. so i thought....hey if it goes down when i hit unlock...it must go up when i hold lock. well nothing. i fiddled with it for a minute and gave up. i realized that sometimes when i lock the car, the red led blinks fast for a few seconds, then starts blinking slow. if i just lock it normally, it just starts blinking slow. sometimes when i hit it a certain way, the led stays on for like 5 seconds then starts blinking. i also noticed that while locked, i can hit the lock button and turn on the interior lights, and hit it again and they go out. since i was just screwing around with it, i dont really know any solid sequences for rolling the windows down, locking the doors and setting alarm/not setting alarm... or whatever the diffent led functions mean, under what circumstances the audible confirmation beeps while locking, controlling interior lighting from remote. ive done a bit of research and was wondering if someone has a full list of everything you can do with the key fob???? if you have any info please please please help. thanks alot and more questions to come.
Old 04-08-2009, 07:14 PM